Nse Honours Yabatech Rector

Download Yabatech News Android App


Nse Honours Yabatech Rector

The Nigerian Society of Engineers (NSE) Lagos branch freshly honoured the Rector of Yaba College of Technology (Yabatech), Engr. Obafemi Omokungbe during the 2018 Annual Public Lecture, Awards and Induction Ceremony.

Omokungbe is a prolific Engineer and the first alumnus of the College to be appointed as the Rector of Yabatech. He has attended and presented papers in several workshops, seminar and conferences both locally and internationally, also published numerous research projects.

He has undertaken several construction projects around South West Nigeria both private and public structures; he is recipient of several commendations for his outstanding impact professionally and in the community.

He became a member of NSE in 1999; a member of Nigeria Institution of Civil Engineers (MNICE), Nigeria Institution of Structural Engineers (FNIStructE), Nigeria Institute of Management (MNIM), America Society of Civil Engineers (MASSCE). He is a fellow of (FNIStructE) and registered with Council for the Regulation of Engineering in Nigeria (COREN).

In his speech, the NSE Chairman Lagos Branch Engr. Johnson Akinwande revealed that NSE was honouring those who have contributed immensely to the growth of Engineering profession and supported NSE Lagos branch over the years.

“The lecture of today is termed “From Engineering to Entrepreneurship, The Rainoil Story” to be delivered by our own Engr. Ogbechie the MD/CEO of Rainoil Nigeria limited an oil and gas conglomerate. The topic is specially chosen to emphasize the fact that Engineers can also be successfully as entrepreneurs. We engineers are seriously concerned by the hopelessness of our youth especially young engineers. They are losing hope in themselves and in our country so the lecturer is one of us and he has experienced all and has succeeded. We want him to share with us his experience”.

Five other Engineers were also honoured; Managing Director of SLOT Systems Limited, Engr. Nnamdi Ezeigbo, Managing Director Plant Project Limited, Engr. Abiodun Adebayo, Group Managing Director Rainoil Limited, Engr. Gabriel Ogbechie, Executive Director Operation of the Nigerian Maritime Administration and Safety Agency (NIMASA), Engr. Oluwarotimi Fashakin, Chief Executive Officer Kenol Nigeria Limited, Engr. Olaolu Ogunduyile.

Likewise 77 corporate members were inducted into the NSE, Akinwande congratulated them and requested that they should participate actively in all the programmes of the branch. He advised them to strive to become entrepreneurs and start their own business, thereby creating employment for the teeming unemployed youths in Nigeria.